Letter to the Toxic People in my Life

 

I am sorry.

Sorry, I let you bully me.

Sorry, I never told you how much I hated it.

Sorry, I never stood up for myself before.

Sorry, I made you feel like you had some power over me.

Sorry, I just went along so you’d be civil for a few days.

Sorry, I let you think that you could keep bullying me indefinitely.

I am not sorry I am going to cut you out of my life.

I am not sorry that I now have peace because of it.

I am not sorry that I feel better about myself then I have for a long time.

I am not sorry I found my voice at last.

I am not sorry I regained my dignity and self-worth.

I cannot persuade others to do the same; each of us must decide when we have had enough.

When keeping the peace is not worth the cost of suppressing ourselves one day longer.

And really is it peaceful to always be anxious about being contact by you? Dreading the next meeting? Trying to connive ways to avoid you?

So, I am sorry that I cannot think of a reason to keep you in my life.

I am sorry you cannot see why.

But, I will demand and expect respect from those I let get close to me.

So, I am sorry that can’t be you.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

