Misstep

LISBON, PORTUGAL - MARCH 10, 2014: Photo of WordPress.com homepage on a monitor screen through a magnifying glass. - stock photo

I have been running out of blog ideas so I signed up for daily prompts from WordPress.

I am a free spirit and cannot see myself doing this every day.

From time to time I will use the daily prompt to get over these slumps of writer’s block.

Today’s prompt was misstep.

girl crying leaning on wall - stock photo

All my life

Even though I am old

Has seemed like a dress rehearsal

I sit in the shadows and watch

Other people live out their dreams

I politely clap and cheer them on

Then I retire once again

Feeling more alone than before

What is the key to being happy?

I never found it, I guess

When I look back I see me as one

Who always sidestep responsibility

For her own life

Depending on others way too much

I wish I could recall that first misstep

That snowballed into passiveness

Acceptance of a mediocre life

And goes against my passionate nature

 

I hate to leave this on such a bummer note. I know that I am changing and can change. I do still struggle with self image and depression. But, every single day I get up and try again. I know there is hope for all of us who suffer with depression.

 

 

Leave a Reply

