Was Nothing Real?

The Truman Show is one of my favorite movies.

    Sail Boat on Lough Derg, Ireland - stock photo

There is a line at the end of the movie that had me in tears the first time I watched it.

Truman after living in a made-up existence, that he is not conscious of, tries to escape his world by conquering his fear of the water and sailing away…only to hit a wall. His whole reality is shattered, he breaks down unable to comprehend what is happening to him. A voice talks to him and he answers with this line that made me cry..” Was nothing real?”

I identity with Truman ,in a way, lost in religious dogma and for many years accepting all that was associated with that dogma, when reality hit, I asked the same question, ” Was nothing real?”  My world view was shattered on the ground, I had to find courage to “sail” to new places and reinvent myself.

Leave a Reply

