Crying Bitter Tears.

This poem was inspired by a woman I don’t know. A woman who lost her son when someone shot him one night.

Portrait of African American woman suffering from illness or headache - stock photo

Crying Bitter Tears.

I would wrap my arms around you if they could reach that far and cry bitter tears with you and rage with you against your loss.
Why do men kill other men? And take away the one who is so loved?
By a sweet and caring mother, who they leave to grieve alone?
So far away what can I do? I cannot even understand your pain; I have my son with me.
I can only hang my head in shame and realize, now at last, what a lucky person that I am.
I have been so selfishly unaware that I have been so truly blessed.
While I have ignored the ones I loved to seek selfish interests and complain about my fate.
I would wrap my arms around you it they could reach that far and cry bitter tears with you and rage against your loss.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

