Cured?

I have struggled with depression for many years in fact I was in a deep depression lasting 10 years and it was pure hell.

Can you be cured? Possibly.

But, is there a one size fits all cure, I doubt it.

A blog I recently read, suggests that if everybody just did thing “A” they would be cured from depression, he admits he is not an expert and neither am I ,we do have one thing in common, we both have been depressed.

If he is cured I am glad, very glad.

You don’t know how glad, because I would not wish this thing called depression on anyone. 

I do, however, get irritated when someone, anyone says, “Just do “A” and you will be cured from depression.” 

Well if I could do “A”, don’t you think I would?

Don’t you think I’ve tried?

My depression was caused by childhood trauma and just thinking positively is not going to cure me.

The problem is I don’t know how to think positively, I didn’t learn that language, I learned the language of survival.

I need real help to change my ways of thinking, I need to learn the language, not just the words.

The blog host suggests to just live in the “now”, but what about people living a life of pure hell?

They may be indeed living in the “now”, but that “now” is a scary place, a “now” where they are repeatedly tortured or molested or raped.

They don’t have time to stop and smell the roses and contemplate how great life can be, they have to think ahead and they got to think about how to survive.

Even years after all this abuse has ended it is not as easy as saying, “I’m going to be happy, now”

Mainly, because you don’t know what happiness is supposed to look like.
You have been conditioned to think you are not worth anything, not worth saving, and a hundred other things like that,

 The “now” is a tape-recorder of these “lessons” that is constantly playing in your head and if you could turn it off you definitely would.

Some depression is caused by chemical imbalances and sometimes medication is needed.

Now, I think we push a little too much medication in this country, but I have seen how the right medication can do wonders.

Positive thinking is not going to cure a chemical imbalance, you can’t think correctly because of the imbalance.

I think a combination of things can help like therapy,  for me writing helps, medication if needed, diet, getting enough sleep or even self help books

Just waking up to an epiphany is not going to happen for most people, no, it is going to take hard work to unlearn all that we have learned.

I mean no disrespect to the blogger who wrote up his post, he is talking from his own experiences, but I believe we should be careful about saying things like do this thing “A” and you will be “cured.”

Like I stated above I do not believe in a one-size fits all “cures” for depression.

I do believe things can get better.

4 Comments

  1. One size does not fit all. We each have to find our own way, what works for us individually. My depression and C-PTSD, etc., has been “cured”. But I had to get here all on my own, the way that works for me. I can empathized with you, but I can’t tell you how to feel. Nothing is “down pat” in the area of mental health; if it were, no one would be suffering. It’s just not that easy. It’s your journey, Rachael. You have to find the way that works for you. 🙂

  2. I agree with you completely. Not only that, but I see depression as being like a physical illness, like diabetes or epilepsy. In other words, it can be controlled to a degree with drugs, and it does ease off completely sometimes, but never ‘cured’ as such as it’s really a part of the person. If a diabetic were told to ‘just get a grip and you’ll be fine’ without any insulin or adjusted diet; if an epileptic were told to pull themselves together and think positive and then they’d have no fits; if a person who’d broken a leg were told to just walk – people would be appalled. So why people with mental health issues?

    What works for one person does not necessarily work for another. As you say, it’s great that this guy’s found something that works for him – but it’s not a solution for everyone.

    I’m so sorry you’re ‘a depressive’ (my words) but you do at least understand it and you are able to write about it. That’s way ahead of many depressives. And – out from that – you’re still an individual with your own personality. It’s pulling yourself up from beneath ground level that’s hard, I know. I’ve been there.

    • You are completely right, it is not a matter of just do this and you’ll be fine, no one would think of telling someone with a physical ailment such tripe. My depression is much better than 10 years ago when I could barely function. I hope you are doing well and thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

