The Fix.

You stare up at me, demanding my attention.

I try to tune you out.

I have a million things to do today-but you are relentless.

You won’t let me be.

It is a need, a strong persistent one.

It won’t be denied.

It cries out in the daytime and in the nighttime,too.

It pushes its own agenda.

It doesn’t give up,it knows I will give in.

An addiction,

A habit I cannot shake.

Pursuing me constantly, not taking “no” for an answer.

So, with hands that shake with eager anticipation for the fix..

I face the blank page…

2 Comments

  1. Wow Rachael, this is right on. I very much relate to this. I see it as a feeling of anxiety, the anticipation, the possibilities, will the words come. It’s like a drug….I need the fix everyday. And if I don’t write everyday, I feel let down. Good poem, Rachael. 🙂

Leave a Reply

