Introducing Patrick.

Visitor badge or ID pass with clipping path Stock Photo - 12301840

My first guest blogger is also my first born!  Here he tells you a little about himself…..

My name is Patrick McGimpsey. I normally write on my own blog, however today I have been given an opportunity to write as a guest on my mother’s blog.

I haven’t given much consideration to what I would write about as a guest blogger to be perfectly honest. But then I thought: how about I write a piece that gives a full introduction to myself. I think it is a major problem in the world that people do not bother to get to know one another. We live in a fast-paced society where meeting people is limited to formalities. So I thought that I would give the people who have taken the time out of their lives to read this a description and introduction to yours truly.

As I stated above, I have my blog which I normally write on. It’s a multifarious body of work consisting of film reviews, opinions on variant topics, and references to social issues. My posts on it are, sadly to say, small in number. I do not write as much as I would like simply because I am at a loss to know what to write about most of the time. My mother, on the other hand, is constantly writing new pieces so that it is sometimes hard for me to keep up. I believe she will post a link to my blog somewhere just in case you would desire to check it out.

Now to begin, I will start with my birthplace. I was born on February 4th 1992 in Grand Rapids, Michigan. I remember my life there very little because I was moved away at a young age due to the growing crime rate. My folks (my mom, dad, and sister) and I moved to Midland, Michigan where most of the family on my mother’s side live. We moved again when I was about 12 to St Louis, Michigan for short period of time until we moved a few years later to my current home Mount Pleasant, Michigan. I moved out of my parent’s home prior to their own move to Alma and currently live with a roommate in an apartment in Mount Pleasant.

It was in Saint Louis that I first discovered my nerdy side. My father introduced me to the Lord of the Rings films which impressed me so much that I almost immediately began to read the book.

I eventually tried my hand at writing fantasy fiction myself but with little success. When I moved out of my parent’s home I became a huge movie buff and began collecting DVDs and going to the theatre frequently.

I now can tell you anything you want to know about, Star Wars, Middle-Earth, Harry Potter, Dune, Star Trek, Final Fantasy, and Batman.

I also became somewhat of a TV freak. I own every season of every show relating to Star Trek, and I also own every season of my favorite show House.

I like House. I admire his intelligence and candor. He genuinely doesn’t care what others think and is honest and realistic at all times.

But there is more to me than just being a geek. Deep down I struggle with depression. This became more and more apparent over my adolescent years until finally I attempted suicide and was incarcerated at a Psych Ward for a few weeks. I now take medication which helps to a moderate extent however I do relapse into depressive habits such as sleeping excessively, overeating, dwelling on anger and sadness, and refusing to talk to people or socialize occasionally. I begin to notice an oncoming relapse when I fail to have emotional reactions to activities I love or fail to get excited at good or bad news. When I feel nothing I know a problem is occurring. However, I always pull through eventually and I can learn to be happy again. I do everything in my power to control my depression and not let it control me.

Academically my interests lie in primarily philosophy, literature, and science. I enjoy psychology quite a bit as well and intend to pursue a career in it. I love philosophy because it analyzes human and universal nature with variant perspectives which allows one to make judgments of his own about how the universe functions. That is also why I enjoy literature because it makes such analyses in the form of a dramatic or comedic story. Science interests me simply because it finds absolute truth which philosophy, despite all its advantages, cannot do. Physical science is the best. Chemical and biological science has its place but it is in physics that we really begin to understand the universe.

My personal philosophy involves a great deal of humanism. I believe  we are the only sentient beings in our reach in this universe and so we must rely on each other to survive as a race. I believe Man has a vast potential for good if He is willing to educate Himself and put aside prejudices and outdated Darwinian tendencies toward violence. I don’t believe in god so I am certain that we need as a consequence to evolve into a more reasonable species that seeks to protect rather than harm those that are different or weak. Bowing our heads to pray is too easy. The work is ours to achieve a better future.

But enough of the soap box speech giving! I am going to stop now and leave you to check out my personal blog to get to know me better. Adiu, adios, ellaleqa, ja ne, ciao, and goodbye!

So, now that you have been introduced you can find Patrick’s blog at : http://psychenous.wordpress.com/

The views of this blogger do not necessarily reflect the views of his Mother.

Leave a Reply

